Sunshine floods through a series of skylights hidden in an oddly shaped ceiling.

Canada 150: Canadian Citizenship Ceremony at Convocation Hall

Some 500 individuals officially became Canadian citizens in a ceremony in Convocation Hall, with President Meric Gertler and Judge Albert Wong presiding, and President Gertler administering the Oath of Citizenship. Also in the platform party were Chancellor Michael Wilson, Chancellor Emerita Vivienne Poy, Claire Kennedy, Chair of the Governing Council, Professor Donald Ainslie, Principal of University College and Chair of the University’s Sesquicentennial Committee, and Canada’s Minister of Science, the Hon. Kirsty Duncan, who is an alumna and former faculty member. This ceremony was the culmination of a series of Canada 150 events at U of T throughout the year.

To read the U of T News coverage, please visit: